How to wind down on the weekends

03/02/2021


Hello lovelies,

I hope you're all having a wonderful week! Wednesday' is  known for being "hump day" but honestly, I have had the best start to my day. I started my morning with a pleasant cup of tea at 7am, after I sat for an hour just reading my book, listening to the birds chattering on the wires outside my window. If that doesn't give me the right vibes for the morning, I don't know what will.

To keep in theme with my good mood and great week I am having, I wanted to share a few ways I have come across that help me wind down on the weekend and better prepare me  for my week ahead, no matter how busy I am. Hopefully some of these tips will help you and you will be waking up on a Monday morning without feeling that Monday dread..

How to unwind on the weekends

Take a break - The weekend has become my days off. Right back at the beginning of the year, I decided that I would stop "working" weekends and have these days social media free so I could focus on myself more. This proved to be the best decision for me and I am so glad that I have stuck with it. Now, especially on a Sunday, I lie in a little later and I don't rush to do anything and it's made a huge difference.

Breathe - I know this is an everyday thing, but we often overlook the importance of just breathing. Taking thoughtful deep breaths help to give me a quick mood booster, I recommend checking out morning meditation videos on YouTube if this isn't something you already practice. Just a five minute meditation can make the world of difference. 

Try something new - We spend all week focusing on our work, from the time we get up to the time we head to bed, work is what drives us the most. Try doing something new on your day off. I have taken to writing poems, that's been my creative escapism and honestly, spending half an hour just writing in my little journal has helped my mind clear a lot of my harboured problems. 


Smile - How many times do you hear people tell you that it takes more muscles to from then it does to smile? I've heard it too many times! I often ask how many muscles will it take for me to punch them in the face if they remind me again. The answer to that varies. Let's be real with each other, no one smiles 24/7 regardless if they're happy or not, it's just not a thing! We can be happy without smiling, happiness is felt on the inside not what's shown on the outside.  So why is smiling on my list? Well, smiling to yourself in the mirror after you've gotten up and ready for your relaxed day releases those happy hormones and they're the best! Just trust me on this, give it a try.

Eat some good food - I in no way mean go grab a salad, unless of course you want to! What I mean is go and cook your favourite meal or meals, grab your friends, family, partner whoever and tuck in. Eating foods that make you feel happy on the inside will make you feel happy in general. Carb is out, eat loads of pizza, pasta, chocolate, whatever your heart desires! I am most definitely not about to give you a lecture about your foods! Only you know what's right and wrong for your body.

Be active - From a stroll around your local park to a kitchen dance party, I am really into both right now! Whack on your tunes and move your body, get your heart rate pumping and feel that energy inside you rise. Being outside for a 20 minute walk or a full workout will do the trick too, plus you'll be getting some fresh air! 


Cosy up - I've literally just said to be active, now I'm saying to cosy up? Yes! Sometimes being active isn't going to help you, especially when you've been on the go all week and you just want to put your feet up, or the weather out there is naff so you don't want to risk it. I am so with you on this! Stick on that Netflix series you're binge-watching, grab some snacks, your favourite blanket, a glass of wine too if that's what you really want and just set your mind free. Taking a long hot bath (or shower) works just as well for those cosy vibes. Any form of self care = a cosy atmosphere for me.


I hope this helps you to unwind this weekend. Let me know over on Instagram what your unwinding tips are.

My next post will be up on Friday. 

Until then,

Stay safe.

Alanna Jean x

© 2021 It's Alanna Jean. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started